A Great Wine For The Masses

Several years ago my wife and I went out to eat at a local steakhouse. The wine list was impressive, but also, intimidating. One day, I will buy that $2500 bottle of wine, but do people actually buy those bottles? We were planning on having a child in the near future which resulted in exaggerated visions of not having enough money for future purchases of diapers, formula, and expensive private schools. I may be a bit crazy, but you get my point.

Luckily, we saw a Cabernet that was local and moderately priced. So, along with our bone-in rib eye steaks, we ordered a bottle of 2007 Mount Veeder Cabernet Sauvignon. We both have strong favorites for expensive local Cabernet’s like Far Niente and Silver Oak, but this Mount Veeder was all the same. It was enjoyable, drinkable, and most importantly, memorable. This remains my second best wine memory of all time.

At the winery it will cost you $40/bottle. Mind you, this isn’t a cheap wine, but it is much cheaper than the more expensive wines and with an equitable wine drinking sensation.

Just recently, I have been able to buy a bottle of 2006 Mt Veeder Cabernet at Nob Hill for $24, yes, $24. Crazy for a wine that was rated a 92.

You can see the full array of wines at http://www.mtveeder.com/

Whenever I am at the store I encourage some poor hapless soul looking for a wine, and I point them to this treasure.

2 thoughts on “A Great Wine For The Masses

  1. very cool….
    love to hear more about this…not just the wine, the whole blog process…..sort of like blog about blogging
    although…I did look tonite for that Bogel Zin you mentioned a few days ago on FB….no luck with that one, but sharing about the great wines out there is a very productive endeavor…….
    good luck with this very interesting venture! I will keep looking

Leave a Reply

