In Cooking, The Egg Comes Before The Chicken

How do you know that you like to cook, or will have the desire to cook in the future? It comes down to the basic necessity of a simple egg. Ask most chefs, and they will ask a new recruit to cook an omelet or egg to determine the aptitude of the chef. Yes, a simple egg. Before you can cook the chicken you must learn to cook the egg.

If you merely want to cook an egg well then you have the right attitude for cooking. That’s pretty simple rule, and you don’t have to go to culinary school to find out.

My daughter Alessandra reminds me of this rule every time we cook eggs. She will throw a fit worthy of an old school French chef if her eggs are not cooked right. There is absolutely no room for any white in her scrambled eggs, and she will not eat the eggs unless the white streaks are either removed or the eggs are  re-cooked. Spoiled girl? Not really, she just wants her egg the way she prefers and there is nothing wrong with that, but the tantrum is history. Her demand does brings back memories, and I apologize to my grandmother (rest her soul), of how I used to act when eggs were not scrambled correctly. At 5, I would tell my grandmother that she was cooking it all wrong and I would jump up and cooked the egg myself. Bless my grandma for not killing me, and allowing me to cook over the stove at a very early age. My wife doesn’t quite understand why I think it’s amusing that Alessandra demands a perfect egg, but it brings back memories. Less than perfect memories, but memories never-the-less.

The white streaks are a result of cooking the egg on an overly hot pan and while there is nothing wrong with country scrambled eggs, she prefers the eggs fluffy and light. Luckily I remember watching Jacques Pepin on T.V. many years ago,and how he cooks scrambled eggs or an omelet. If you watch this you-tube video from Jacques Pepin you can see how masterful he is with all types of egg cookery. If you want to see how to make two types of omelet, then watch Jacques on this omelet video.

Jacques Pepin makes it look stupid easy, but it’s not. His show on PBS will always be a favorite of mine. Information about his show: (KQED – Jacques Pepin). He has so much knowledge from being a chef and his ability to teach via television is second to none.

I cook Alessandra’s egg very similar to the French style omelet, making sure the curds are very small. If I have time, I will cook scrambled eggs over a double boiler and allow the eggs to firm up slowly and keeping the egg a beautiful dark yellow-orange color. I practice egg cookery every weekend since it’s quick and easy to practice. Having a good non-stick pan is crucial and it’s okay to keep the heat on medium-low.

I am not sure if Alessandra will keep up the cooking bug, but I hope her cooking standards remain high.

One thought on “In Cooking, The Egg Comes Before The Chicken

  1. I love your section on cooking with Alessandra! I work for the Monday Campaigns, a non profit in association with Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, which leads health initiatives. My favorite campaign is The Kids Cook Monday which encourages families to cook and eat together every Monday. There are so many benefits including development of oral skills, exploration of new and healthy foods, and more awareness of the nutrients eaten.

    We would love if you and Alessandra would write a weekly blog for us on Mondays about your adventures in the kitchen. It is a great way for you guys to spend time together and as you mentioned she is already a little chief! Please visit our website http://www.mondaycampaigns.org/the-kids-cook-monday/ to learn more and email me if you are interested.

    Looking forward to the cooking situations,
    Abby
    TheKidsCookMonday@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

